Entries Open for NSW Premier’s History Awards


Okay Australian writers and creators of historical non-fiction, get your game faces on. It’s your time to shine for nominations are now open for the NSW Premier’s History Award. With a total of $75k in prize money it is one of Australia’s most hotly contested awards. It is open to historical works first published, screened, broadcast, or made publicly available between April 1 2017 and 31 March 2018.

The categories are:

Australian History Prize ($15k) for a major work of non-fiction in either print or ebook form on Australian history which address a specific area of national significance. Past winners include From the Edge: Australia’s Lost Histories by Mark McKenna and Australia’s Boldest Experiment: War and Reconstruction in the 1940s by Stuart Macintyre.

General History Prize ($15k) for a major work of non-fiction published in print or ebook on international history on an area of national or international significance. Past winners include Japanese War Criminals by Sandra Wilson, Robert Cribb, Beatrice Trefault and Dean Aszkielowicz and Intolerant Bodies: A Short History of Autoimmunity by Warwick Anderson and Ian R McKay.

NSW Community and Regional History Prize ($15k) for a major work, either print or ebook, that makes a significant understanding to community or institutional regional history. Past winners include Stories from the Sandstone by Peter Hobbins, Ursula K Frederick and Anne Clarke, and Coast: A History of the New South Wales Edge by Ian Hoskins.

Young People’s History Prize ($15k) for a published book or ebook, publicly screened or broadcast film, television, or radio program, DVD or website – fiction or non-fiction aimed at increasing the understanding of history in children or young adults. Past winners include Maralinga’s Long Shadow: Yvonne’s Story by Christopher Mattingley, and One Thousand Hills by James Roy and Nöel Zihabamwe

Digital History Prize ($15k) for an Australian historian’s interpretation of a historical subject using nonprint media. Past winners include The Amboyna Conspiracy by Adam Clulow and Brilliant Creatures by Dan Goldberg and Margie Bryant.

Find the nomination form and guidelines here. Entries close 5pm Friday 5th of April, so get on it.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s