RIP Jackie Collins

Standard
image

I love pictures of authors with their type writers.

In honour of the fabulous Jackie Collins, who lost her battle with breast cancer and was taken from us all too soon at the age of 77, I thought I’d share a few of my favourite quotes. She was a gutsy woman who acknowledged female passion and sexuality and wasn’t afraid to write about it. Love or hate her novels, she should be an inspiration to all aspiring authors. Jackie Collins was a passionate author who said she loved her work so much that she would still be writing at 106. She had her fair share of critics who accused her of peddling smut but she kept on writing about strong women, finding their own identity, and exploring a sensual and romantic world. She started writing in a time when the idea that women could have urges was considered abhorrent yet she preserved and is one of the top selling authors of all time. So please enjoy these quotes from this courageous woman, and I hope they inspire you as they have me.

image

Flawless powerhouse.

If you want to be a writer-stop talking about it and sit down and write!

The biggest critics of my books are people who never read them.

I am still shocking people today, and I don’t know why. Is it because I’m a woman talking about sex and men?

If you want to achieve your dreams, you must follow them, and the best way to follow them is not to think about wanting to be very rich, but to think about doing something that you really want to do.

Whatever you have a passion for, then you must do. If you want to write, write about something you know about.

I don’t believe in writing anything that I don’t know about or haven’t researched about personally. I like to transport the reader to places, and in order to do that I have to do the research.

I have written 20 books, and each one is like having a baby. Writing is not easy; some people want to write books but just can’t put a story together. I can put together a story that interests both me and my readers.

My weakness is wearing too much leopard print.

Shit happens. You need to move on.

2 responses »

  1. She’s my hero. Love all these quotes – her books are among my favourite and I never get sick of re reading them. So heartbroken and shocked 😭😭😭😭

Leave a Reply

