Liebster Award

Standard

A while back the wonderful Jennifer Zeiger from http://jenniferzeiger.com/ (go check out her blog – DO IT! Shakes fist) was lovely enough to nominate me for a Liebster Award. Hooray. A Liebster Award is basically a lovely nod that a fellow blogger gives you to say, “hey, I like your style.” And I say thank you that is just delightful. The award essentially means that I’m a small blog (depending on which version of events you read the number varies) of less than 200 followers and that Jennifer Zeiger recommends you check me out. In turn I nominate people (11) for the same award, reveal some facts about myself (11), answer (11) questions set by Jennifer Zeiger, and then make up some questions (11) to ask those that I have nominated. Essentially I will do that but a little differently, I’ll do all the questiony, facty, answer stuff, and I’ll list some blogs that I like. The thing is, some will be small, some will be bigger, it is just a list and I don’t want anyone to feel compelled that they must follow along. I would hate for this honour to be viewed as chainmail. So I’ll set 11 questions for those that I “nominate” but they are under no instructions or demand to answer them, or even acknowledge them in any way shape or form. I just thought that this was a nice way to share some blogs I like and also say a great big thank you to Jennifer.

Blogs I Like:
http://jenniferzeiger.com/
http://emmadarwin.typepad.com/thisitchofwriting/
http://www.waltermason.com/
http://www.kateforsyth.com.au/
http://sprteam.wordpress.com/
http://chloeprimealienspacevet.com
http://www.charlottewood.com.au/
http://www.writersjourney.com.au/

11 Facts About Me (AKA Robin Elizabeth):
I am dyslexic
I actually wrote 4 novels in primary school not 2 but because 1 was Babysitter Club fan fic and another Sweet Valley High fan fic, I generally only ever admit to 2. They were the most epic of epic fantasies.
I quite enjoy being a teacher, the students make me laugh pretty much harder than anyone else.
I find most fart jokes funny
I love potatoes. Greatest food ever, you can chipperfy them, bake them, roast them, smother them with a variety of toppings, and so much more. Potatoes are highly under rated.
I grew up in the country but much prefer city living.
I want to have another baby.
I still giggle every time I read about Dick and Fanny in any Enid Blyton book. I am that purile.
I like children’s books as much as adult books.
I am utterly addicted to tea.
If I skip a meal I get overly emotional, cry on the bathroom floor emotional.

Questions Jennifer set me:
1. What inspired your blog?
Truthfully, I did a writing workshop with the amazing Jan Cornall and she suggested I started one and become more social media savvy. She recommended that I take a look at what Walter Mason (Destination Saigon) was doing, so I did and here I am.
2. What are two passions in your life?
Writing and my daughter. What can I say, she is my sunshine.
3. What genre do you prefer to read?
Speculative fiction. I’m an English major and so should probably say literary fiction, but although I do love it I really do prefer spec fic.
4. Who is your favorite author?
Oh great, ask an impossible question!!! Sigh. What to say, how to answer? I guess Alan Dean Foster and Rpald Dahl has had the greatest impact on my own writing, but I do love to read Julian Barnes, but then Kate Forsyth is an excellent teacher, but then again Ian Irvine is so epic, and then there is of course Feist who all fantasy readers must refer to along with Mary Shelley and Tolkien. I can’t answer. I just can’t. There are too many options. I’m sorry. I fail this one.
5. If it’s a rainy saturday, what do you do?
Cuddle my baby girl (I guess my husband too), drink copious amounts of tea, and write.
6. If you could meet anyone, who would it be?
The perfect publisher or literary agent who just gets me and wants to work with me and loves my work. Wherever you are, I will find you.

7. To steal one from Joe’s book, if aliens were taking over the world and you could grab one thing, what would it be?
My daughter. My husband can grab himself!
8. Where’s your favorite place in the world?
New South Wales Writers’ Centre’s garden
9. Who is your greatest supporter?
Sigh, my husband.
10. If you won the lottery, what would you do first with it?
Travel Europe
11. What are you currently reading?
“Daughter of the Forest” by Juliet Mariller. If you haven’t read it, I recommend you do. Haven’t even finished it yet and am loving it! (Expect a book review from me on this one)

So now for my 11 questions for anyone who wants to play:
What are you wearing?
Why are you wearing it?
What is your favourite thing to cook?
What is your favourite thing to eat?
What is your favourite word/catchphrase/quote?
If you could meet any fictional character which one would it be?
What would you ask them?
If Hollywood were to make a movie of your life who would they get to play you?
What book would you recommend everyone reads?
What do you care about most in this world?
What do you fear most in this world?

3 responses »

  1. Love your writing, Robin=) and very much believe you deserve this award. And on question 4, there’s no way to fail. I’d be more shocked if you could definitively name one favorite author. As is, I’m making a list of those you named that I’m not familiar with=)

Leave a Reply

